Our Governance / Trust Board

The Governance of Te Taiwhenua o Heretaunga is the Te Haaro Board of Trustees. The Te Taiwhenua o Heretaunga Trust Deed was aligned to Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated processes in 2000, resulting in Marae/ Hapū and Maata Waka representation on the Board of Trustees.

The Board is made up of fifteen (15) members who are mandated by the individual Marae and affiliated Hapū, including one (1) Maata Waka mandated trustee.

Elections took place between November 2015 and January 2016. These elections marked a significant change to our system of trustee elections, with all trustee board positions now opened up to election every three years.  This replaces a rolling system in which some seats came up for election each year.

Seventeen (17) Marae are represented on Te Haaro Board of Trustees through natural Marae clusters.  Te Haaro Board of Trustees provide the visionary strategic leadership for Heretaunga that reflects the needs and aspirations of Marae/ Hapū, Whānau and Communities.  Te Haaro also ensures Te Taiwhenua o Heretaunga is high performing, compliant and fulfilling the vision and kaupapa in accordance with the Trust Deed and tikanga.

2019 Te Haaro


Quick Links

New Career?

Sign me up!

Looking for a new start? Check out our current career opportunities here view

Back to Top